Football Coaching Milestones 2018

Santa Ana Mater Dei’s Bruce Rollinson (left) celebrated his 300th win after the CIF Open Division state final. The next to do that could be Mike Herrington from Newhall Hart next season. Photos: Chuck Nan &

As the calendar changes from 2018 to 2019, our postseason football projects continue with a look at significant coaching milestones. Whether it’s 298 or 300 wins for Santa Ana Mater Dei’s Bruce Rollinson, back-to-back CIF state titles further cements his legacy as one of state’s all-time best. Next to reach 300 may be Newhall Hart’s Mike Herrington with Aptos’ Randy Blankenship not far behind. All coaches with 200 reported wins or more are now listed and all totals have been updated through the 2018 season in our exclusive state record list.

Note: This is a Gold Club post on The updated state record list with all reported coaches at 200 wins or more also is for Gold Club members only. It’s a list of more than 100 of the greatest in California history that spans more than 100 years. For signup info to become a Gold Club member to see record lists like this that don’t exist anywhere else, CLICK HERE.


As the second half of the CIF Open Division state championship was in full swing at Cerritos College and it was looking good that Mater Dei of Santa Ana head coach Bruce Rollinson was going to collect his 300th win (counting forfeits), it began to be known on social media that California’s second winningest head football coach ever, Marijon Ancich from St. Paul of Santa Fe Springs, had died.

This content is for Gold Club, Gold Club Quarterly, and Gold Club Monthly members only.

If you are a Gold Club member, please log in using the form in the top right to view this content.

If you’re not already a Gold Club member, click below to learn more about the benefits of joining the Cal-Hi Sports Gold Club.

Join the Cal-Hi Sports Gold Club

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


    Latest News

    Insider Blog