Golden Spikes & NCAA MOPs from the Golden State

With a player from a California high school winning the Golden Spikes Award, which for college baseball is similar to winning the Heisman Trophy in football, and with another player from California leading Oregon State to the College World Series title by pitching a shutout in the final game, we were motivated to compile a list of the state’s winners for the Golden Spikes Award since it began in 1978 for those from the state who’ve been Most Outstanding Player at the CWS since 1949.

Pitcher Kevin Abel from Madison of San Diego wasn’t the MOP at the College World Series, however, as his battery mate and hitting star of the squad, Adley Rutschman, was voted to receive the honor. Rutschman is from Sherwood, Ore.

Among the other standouts for the Beavers from California were second baseman Nick Madrigal of Elk Grove and outfielder Trevor Larnach from College Park of Pleasant Hill. Madrigal was the fourth pick in the first round of the recent MLB Draft by the Chicago White Sox while Larnach went at 20th in the first round to the Minnesota Twins.

For the Golden Spikes Award, Cal’s Andrew Vaughn, a recent all-state pick from Maria Carrillo of Santa Rosa, was this year’s winner. Vaughn, a sophomore, is the first-ever Golden Spikes honoree for the Bears.

Here are lists of all reported Golden Spikes Award winners and all Most Outstanding Player honorees at the College World Series who are from California high schools:

Golden Spikes Award Winners
From California High Schools

(First year of award 1978; presented annually by USA Baseball)

2018 – Andrew Vaughn of Cal (Maria Carrillo, Santa Rosa)
2011 – Trevor Bauer of UCLA (Hart, Newhall)
2009 – Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State (Westview, San Diego)
2004 – Jered Weaver of Long Beach State (Simi Valley)
2001 – Mark Prior of USC (University, San Diego)
1998 – Pat Burrell of Miami, Fla. (Bellarmine, San Jose)
1995 – Mark Kotsay of Cal St Fullerton (Santa Fe, Santa Fe Springs)
1992 – Phil Nevin of Cal St Fullerton (El Dorado, Placentia)
1991 – Mike Kelly of Arizona State (Los Alamitos)
1988 – Robin Ventura of Oklahoma St (Righetti, Santa Maria)
1979 – Tim Wallach of Cal St Fullerton (University, Irvine)

Most Outstanding Player At College World Series
From California High Schools

(First year of the College World Series was 1949)

1962 – Bob Garibaldi of Santa Clara (Stagg, Stockton)
1963 – Bud Hollowell of USC (Poly, Long Beach)
1967 – Ron Davini of Arizona State (Anaheim)
1968 – Bill Seinsoth of USC (Arcadia)
1969 – John Dolinsek of USC (Novato)
1972 – Russ McQueen of USC (Lakewood)
1974 – George Milke of USC (Marian Catholic, San Diego)
1976 – Steve Powers of Arizona (Stevenson, Pebble Beach)
1978 – Rod Boxberger of USC (Foothill, Tustin)
1979 – Tony Hudson of Cal St Fullerton (San Bernardino)
1981 – Stan Holmes of Arizona State (Dos Palos)
1984 – John Fishel of Cal St Fullerton (Loara, Anaheim)
1986 – Mike Senne of Arizona (Lutheran, Orange)
1988 – Lee Plemel of Stanford (Laguna Hills)
1992 – Phil Nevin of Cal St Fullerton (El Dorado, Placentia)
1994 – Chip Glass of Oklahoma (Santa Rosa Junior College)*
1995 – Mark Kotsay of Cal St Fullerton (Santa Fe, Santa Fe Springs)
1996 – Pat Burrell of Miami, Fla. (Bellarmine, San Jose)
1998 – Wes Rachels of USC (Loyola, Los Angeles)
2003 – John Hudgins of Stanford (Mission Viejo)
2004 – Jason Windsor of Cal St Fullerton (Leigh, San Jose)
2008 – Tommy Mendonca of Fresno State (Turlock)
2013 – Adam Plutko of UCLA (Glendora)

*Glass born in Ukiah; high school not reported.

Enjoy this article?

Find out how you can get access to more exclusive content, one-of-a-kind California high school sports content!

Learn More


  1. Randall Bispo
    Posted July 1, 2018 at 7:13 pm | Permalink

    Steve Powers was MOP in 1976 for Arizona, played high school ball at Robert Louis Stevenson (MTAL) Pebble Beach Ca.

    • Mark Tennis
      Posted July 2, 2018 at 2:24 pm | Permalink

      Looked and looked for his high school and didn’t find it. Thanks.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


    Latest News

    Insider Blog