Ms. Volleyball State POY To Get Reboot

It’s been since 2008 when there was a Ms. Volleyball State Player of the Year in California, but that will change in the next two weeks when the annual honor is being re-booted by Cal-Hi Sports.

Additional volleyball coverage on our site is possible due to the work we’re doing and projected extra work for the web site and streaming service.

In addition to honoring a player of the year for the 2016 high school season, the all-time list of Ms. Volleyball State Players of the Year also will be retro-actively updated to fill in the gaps from 2009 through 2015.

The first listed Ms. Volleyball State POY is Denise Corlett of Los Angeles Marlborough for 1974. Additional honorees since then and through 2008 have included such big names in the sport like Elaina Oden of Irvine (1984), Misty May of Newport Beach Newport Harbor (only two-time winner), Kerri Walsh of San Jose Archbishop Mitty (1995), April Ross of Newport Beach Newport Harbor (1999) and Cynthia Barboza of Long Beach Wilson (2004).

If anyone wants to provide nominations for possible 2016 Ms. Volleyball State Player of the Year, send info to

Enjoy this article?

Find out how you can get access to more exclusive content, one-of-a-kind California high school sports content!

Learn More

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


    Latest News

    Insider Blog