More State Baseball Coaches of Year

In addition to overall State Coach of the Year Gary Remiker, we have additional state coaching honors for the 2016 season going to Jeff Baumback from Redondo Union of Redondo Beach and Troy Ghisetti of Arcata.

For more on State Coach of the Year Gary Remiker, CLICK HERE.

Note: We hope you enjoy this free story on Some of our all-state baseball content and some of our preseason football content will be for Gold Club members only. Join our team today by CLICKING HERE.

Jeff Baumback (Redondo Union, Redondo Beach)

Back at the top of the Division III state rankings this season were the Sea Hawks, who under Baumback’s guidance followed up last season’s 29 wins with 31 wins this season and a CIF Southern Section Division III championship. In addition, Redondo was the highest ranked team this season in Southern California regardless of playoff division.

Baumback was an assistant coach at Long Beach Wilson in 2007 when that team was No. 1 in the state and No. 1 in one national poll. Photo:

Baumback was an assistant coach at Long Beach Wilson in 2007 when that team was No. 1 in the state and No. 1 in one national poll. Photo:

Taking over a program in 2010 that had not won at least 15 games in a season the previous six years, Baumback has led the team to 15 wins in each season he’s been in charge, including three in a row of more than 20 wins.

After his own playing career at Long Beach State (where he was teammates with Jared Weaver, Bobby Crosby and Troy Tulowitzki), Baumback was an assistant coach at Long Beach Wilson. One of the teams there in 2007 went 32-3, won the CIFSS Division I title and was State Team of the Year.

When last year’s team captured the CIFSS Division III title, it was the first baseball championship in the 100-year history of Redondo High. This year’s team also won its third straight Bay League title, which may not sound like much but the Sea Hawks won that title over arch-rival Mira Costa of Manhattan Beach, which won this year’s Boras Classic state championship over an elite field.

This division has a strong recent history of State Coaches of the Year from the South Bay. Ollie Turner of Torrance was the honoree in 2014 and the year before that it was Wilmer Aaron of Gardena Serra.

Last 10 State Medium Schools Coaches of the Year: 2016 – Jeff Baumback (Redondo Union, Redondo Beach); 2015 – Mike Mitchell (El Cajon Christian); 2014 – Ollie Turner (Torrance); 2013 – Wilmer Aaron (Gardena Serra); 2012 – Steve Vickery (Lakeside El Capitan); 2011 – Gary Remiker (San Diego Cathedral Catholic); 2010 – Rich Sciutto (Burlingame); 2009 – Bob Anderson (Lake Shasta Central Valley); 2008 – Hondo Arpoika (Oakdale); 2007 – Sandy Whitol (Los Altos); 2006 – Aaron Kavanaugh (Quartz Hill).

Troy Ghisetti (Arcata)

The longtime head coach of the Tigers guided them to their best record in over a decade at 23-6 and for the first time in program history they won a CIF North Coast Section championship when they defeated Justin-Siena of Napa 6-1 in the CIF NCS Division IV finals. Wyatt Tucker pitched a three-hitter and had a no-hitter into the fifth inning.

Arcata High logo

Arcata High logo

It was the fourth time Ghisetti helped Arcata reach the section finals with the previous three trips coming in 2000, 2001 and 2008 and ending with losses. He’s been the team’s coach for 21 years.

Also the school’s athletic director, he was honored back in 2008 with an NCS Honor Coaches award. He also played baseball at the school and was a member of the Class of 1986.

Ghisetti is just the second coach ever from the Humboldt-Del Norte area to be Small Schools State Coach of the Year. The only other one on the state list is Brady Shamp from St. Bernard’s of Eureka, who was honored in 2002.

Last 10 State Small Schools Coaches of the Year: 2016 – Troy Ghisetti (Arcata); 2015 – Nelson Randolph (Sacramento Capital Christian); 2014 – Jay Preuss (Kerman); 2013 – Gil Ruiz (Pacific Grove); 2012 – Greg Largent (Escalon); 2011 – Craig Schoof (Atherton Menlo School); 2010 – Glen Prater (Riverside Woodcrest Christian); 2009 – Brad Gunter (Roseville Valley Christian); 2008 – Gary Galloway (Petaluma St. Vincent de Paul); 2007 – Rick Zepek (San Jacinto); 2006 – Mike Glines (Modesto Central Catholic).

Paul Muyskens is the Stockton office assistant editor for Mark Tennis is the co-founder and publisher of He can be reached at Don’t forget to follow Mark on the Cal-Hi Sports Twitter handle: @CalHiSports

Enjoy this article?

Find out how you can get access to more exclusive content, one-of-a-kind California high school sports content!

Learn More

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


    Latest News

    Insider Blog