DLS Hall of Fame to induct five

De La Salle High of Concord has announced its inductees to the Spartan Athletic Hall of Fame, which includes two teams, five individual student-athletes and one long-time supporter.

We admit to being involved in this school’s Hall of Fame as an outside media source, providing the Hall of Fame committee opinion of statewide facts and status of former players and teams. If any school were to ask the same, we’d give similar input but none ever have.

The Inductees to the Spartan Athletic Hall of Fame are two teams, five individual student-athletes, and one long-time supporter. The Hall of Fame inductees are:

Rob Lambert ’81: Rob was a standout in football and baseball and was De La Salle’s Athlete of the Year as a senior.
Greg Brown-Davis ’97: Greg excelled in football, wrestling, and diving, and was co-Athlete of the Year.
Joe See ’01: A four-year varsity basketball player who set scoring records and led the Spartans to the state title, Joe went on to play at UC Santa Barbara.
Demetrius Williams ’01: superb on both the football field and the basketball court, Demetrius played football for the University of Oregon and was drafted by the Baltimore Ravens of the NFL.
Matt Gutierrez ’02: Matt, a football quarterback and basketball forward, was the Spartan Athlete of the Year in 2002. He played football at the University of Michigan and was an NFL quarterback for several years.
John Wilhelmy, M.D.: Dr. Wilhelmy, an orthopedic surgeon and longtime supporter of De La Salle, was instrumental in building the Athletics Department’s close relationship with Muir Orthopaedic Specialists. He is the father of three DLS alumni.
The 1985 Football Team: The 1985 varsity won the league title and the North Coast Section title, outscoring opponents by 323 to 69 over eleven games, and was the first Spartan team to be nationally ranked. This also was the team that steam-rolled Bellarmine Prep of San Jose early in the season when many looked at De La Salle as still being somewhat of a small school. Head coach Bob Ladouceur says it was the first really huge win in the storied program’s history.
The 1996 Soccer Team: The undefeated varsity allowed zero goals during the 1996 season and only three goals in post-season play, as it won the league and section titles. When looking over details about this team, we also confirmed through our own state record research that the 1985 DLS soccer team set and still holds the state record for fewest goals allowed in a season.

The school also announced on Wednesday its Alumnus of the Year. It is ESPN broadcaster Sean Farnham ’96. Sean, a basketball star at De La Salle and then at UCLA, is a college basketball analyst for ESPN television. Sean will also serve as master of ceremonies on October 26 when the Hall of Fame event will be held on campus.

Enjoy this article?

Find out how you can get access to more exclusive content, one-of-a-kind California high school sports content!

Learn More

One Comment

  1. zyyne factory
    Posted August 21, 2014 at 3:41 pm | Permalink

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
    zyyne factory http://www.zyyne-factory.com/

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


    Latest News

    Insider Blog