More State Football Coaches of Year

State Medium Schools Coach of the Year Kevin Macy of Moraga Campolindo poses with some of his players after team capped 16-0 season with CIF D3 state crown. Photo: Mark Tennis.

State Medium Schools Coach of the Year Kevin Macy of Moraga Campolindo poses with some of his players after team capped 16-0 season with CIF D3 title. Photo: Mark Tennis.

Here are the choices from among those schools considered medium-size and small. It’s the second straight year our medium schools honoree guided a 16-0 squad. Our top small schools coach, meanwhile, is busy this week in Florida helping coach at the Under Armour All-American Game.

Note: We have just updated our all-time state list for football coaching wins through the 2014 season. If you want to see it plus more exclusive content that is not available anywhere else, please check out a Gold Club membership. It is only $19.79 for one year. For subscription info, CLICK HERE.

Attention young athletes: To check out info and to sign up for the first-ever Cal-Hi Sports/Gold Medal Excellence All-Sports Speed Camp coming up on Jan. 31 at Palisades High in Southern California, CLICK HERE. If you want to jump-start your off-season training schedule and help you run faster 40s at camps and combines, this event is a must for you.

Congratulations to the following two California coaches for joining Cal-Hi Sports State Coach of the Year Kurt Bruich of Redlands East Valley as additional honorees for accomplishments by their teams during the 2014 football season.

Medium Schools State Coach of the Year
Kevin Macy (Campolindo, Moraga)

It would be hard to argue that Macy’s 19th year in charge of the Cougars wasn’t his best since he guided them to their first state championship in program history and an undefeated 16-0 season.

Entering the season, the Cougars had lost eight first-team all-league players from last year but it was not a rebuilding year as they averaged 46 points per game.

Twice in the postseason, Macy’s team scored the final 35 points of a game. First it was a 35-14 victory over 13-0 Sutter in the NorCal Division III regional bowl game after Sutter jumped out to a 14-0 lead. Then in the CIF Division III state bowl game, Campo trailed 28-7 late in the third quarter before storming back for a 35-28 win over El Capitan of Lakeside. Like Sutter, El Capitan also was unbeaten at the time.

Macy, who already has been named as the East Bay Football Coach of the Year by the Contra Costa Times, is the second straight coach of a 16-0 team to be selected in the medium schools category. He follows Scott Meyer of Newport Beach Corona del Mar, whose team capped a 16-0 season with a win in the CIF D3 bowl game over Sacred Heart Prep of Atherton.

Previous medium schools state coaches of the year from the East Bay region of the CIF North Coast Section include Floyd Burnsed from Miramonte of Orinda (1998), Jim Fuller from Las Lomas of Walnut Creek (1992), Dave Silveira from Alhambra of Martinez (1991), Bob Ladouceur of Concord De La Salle (1982), Kevin McNair of Piedmont (1976) and Jack Ferrill from Liberty of Brentwood (1965)

Recent Cal-Hi Sports Medium Schools
State Coaches of the Year

2013 – Scott Meyer (Corona del Mar, Newport Beach); 2012 – Rick Jackson (Madison, San Diego); 2011 – Rick Prinz (Paradise); 2010 – Paul Cronin (Cardinal Newman, Santa Rosa); 2009 – Sean Doyle (Cathedral Catholic, San Diego); 2008 – Lou Farrar (Charter Oak, Covina); 2007 – Ray Fenton (Cypress); 2006 – Eric Reis (Manteca); 2005 – Robin Luken (Lompoc); 2004 – Rob Gilster (Valley Center); 2003 – Tony Martello (Colfax); 2002 – Tom St. Jacques (Lassen, Susanville); 2001 – Butch Cattolico (Los Gatos); 2000 – Dennis Pugh (Mission Bay, San Diego).

Head coach Roger Canepa has a program that done something that only De La Salle has also done and that's win three CIF state football titles in a row. Photo: Mark Tennis.

Head coach Roger Canepa has a program that done something that only De La Salle has also done and that’s win three CIF state football titles in a row. Photo: Mark Tennis.

Small Schools State Coach of the Year
Roger Canepa (Central Catholic, Modesto)

Leading the Raiders to their third straight small school state championship, it’s just the right time to honor Canepa in this category.

Before this season even started, he was selected to coach in the 2015 Under Armour All-America Game played in Florida.

Playing at Sonora in 1979 and 1980 before playing in college, he came back to the Wildcats in 1992 and was a co-head coach through 1994 in helping the teams go 28-6. Canepa then became the head coach at Calaveras of San Andreas from 1998-2007 where his Redskins made the CIF Sac-Joaquin Section playoffs for 10 straight seasons.

Since taking over with the Raiders in 2008, his teams have gone 80-18 over seven seasons. He needs just one more win to reach 200 for his career and thus gain entry onto the all-time state wins list.

Canepa is the third Small Schools State Coach of the Year from the Stanislaus District of the CIF Sac-Joaquin Section since 2008. The other two are Mark Loureiro of Escalon (2008) and Frank Marques of Hilmar (2008). He’s also the third winner in the category from Central Catholic. This includes Mike Glines, his predecessor, being chosen for both 2003 and 1973. The other is Chris Wilkinson for 1981.

Recent Cal-Hi Sports Small Schools
State Coaches of the Year

2013 – Matt Oliver (Christian, El Cajon); 2012 – Pete Lavorato (Sacred Heart Prep, Atherton); 2011 – Jon Ellinghouse (Sierra Canyon, Chatsworth); 2010 – Mark Louriero (Escalon); 2009 – Jack Moyer (Fort Bragg); 2008 – Frank Marques (Hilmar); 2007 – Kim Jorgensen (Ferndale); 2006 – Travis Brackett (Novato); 2005 – Matt Hunsaker (Central Valley, Shasta Lake); 2004 – Rich Cotruvo (Justin-Siena, Napa); 2003 – Mike Glines (Central Catholic, Modesto); 2002 – Coley Candaele (Carpinteria); 2001 – Dan Finfrock (Arrowhead Christian, Redlands); 2000 – Mike Sparks (Dos Palos).

Comments or corrections? Email

Paul Muyskens contributed to this post. Mark Tennis is the co-founder and publisher of He can be reached at Don’t forget to follow Mark on the Cal-Hi Sports Twitter handle: @CalHiSports

Enjoy this article?

Find out how you can get access to more exclusive content, one-of-a-kind California high school sports content!

Learn More

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


    Latest News

    Insider Blog

    Cal-Hi Sports on Twitter

    Cal-Hi Sports on Facebook